Not So Dumb After All

DreamingDreaming by Jill Barnett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actually, my rating’s closer to 3 1/2 stars, only because I read the kindle edition which had annoying typos throughout and because overall the story was tad conventional BUT I was surprised into liking Letitia. She initially comes across as being extremely ‘blonde’ despite her chestnut-hair. The first part of the novel is one mishap after another, a kind of slapstick muddle-up that very nearly made me categorize her as too-stupid-to-live. Yet. Yet, her genuine love for the victim of her disasters, Richard, is so, so unabashed, so unconditional that I found myself rooting for her. Motherless and friendless for most of her 19 years, she has not learned social graces but the lesson she has taken to heart comes here (I don’t think I’m spoiling): “You think I’m a child and I know nothing about the world or about love. But I know about love. I know about loss. And I know about loneliness, and goodbyes, and about never being able to voice those feelings again.”

Suddenly, she was not so silly.

View all my reviews

About mkstelmack

A reader of Russian literature, romance, homeschooling catalogues and juvenile literature. A writer of unusual historical romances set in imperial Russia. A mother of two (quarter-Russians), a wife of one (half-Russian).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

