The Sound on the Page: Quick Review

This is one of those craft books I like because it talks less about what should be done and more to what could be done. The Sound on the Page: Style and Voice in Writing

The Sound on the Page: Style and Voice in Writing by Ben Yagoda
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If content is the what and style is the how, this book is the what on the how. It was a random pick off my small town library’s shelf, at a time when I was struggling with what my writing voice ought to be. Yagoda didn’t solve the problem for me but he took me on a wonderful tour of writers who’ve certainly given it thought. He built his book with essays, punchy quotes from the quick and the dead, and a good many interview excerpts. I left it on the kitchen table and snatched a few pages at a time over salad and scrambled eggs. The method worked because it’s a book that needn’t be consumed in large chunks. (Atrocious pun intended.)In the end, I can’t say I’m any closer to formulating my style and that, perhaps, is one of Yagoda’s ‘take away’ points (Lord, did I just make another food pun?): style is recognizable but how it got that way is for each writer to discover and keep discovering.

View all my reviews

About mkstelmack

A reader of Russian literature, romance, homeschooling catalogues and juvenile literature. A writer of unusual historical romances set in imperial Russia. A mother of two (quarter-Russians), a wife of one (half-Russian).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sound on the Page: Quick Review

  1. sounds like a good read Moira. thx

Leave a Reply

